ATHLETICS: U.S., Simbassa and Sieracki sweep NACAC Cross Country Champs

NACAC Cross Country champion (and ex-Oklahoma star) Biya Simbassa

The North American, Central American and Caribbean Athletic Association (NACAC) Cross Country Championships was won, once again, by the United States in Port of Spain (TTO).

The U.S. not only won the men’s and women’s team titles, but also took the individual titles.

Abbabiya Simbassa won his second NACAC X-C crown, having previously won in 2017; he led a 1-2-3-4 U.S. finish that gave the American men a perfect team score of 10 points. Simbassa came out on top of a three-man sprint to the finish, ahead of Frankline Tonui and Reid Buchanan.

Breanna Sieracki won the women’s competition for the U.S., the first American women’s winner since 2016 (Allison Morgan). Sieracki finished just ahead of Canada’s Jessica O’Connell, with Jessica Tonn of the U.S. third.

In the 15 runnings of the event, the U.S. men have won all but once (2006) and the American women have taken 10 titles. However, while the men won their 13th in a row, the U.S. women won the team title for the first time since 2016. Summaries:

NACAC Cross Country Championships
Port of Spain (TTO) ~ 16 February 2019
(Full results here)

Men (10.0 km): 1. Abbabiya Simbassa (USA), 31:49; 2. Frankline Tonui (USA), 31:50; 3. Reid Buchanan (USA), 31:51; 4. Evans Kirwa (USA), 32:08; 5. Rory Linkletter (CAN), 32:13.

Men’s Team Scores: 1. United States, 10; 2. Canada, 31; 3. Trinidad & Tobago, 88.

Women (10.0 km): 1. Breanna Sieracki (USA); 36:34; 2. Jessica O’Connell (CAN), 36:37; 3. Jessica Tonn (USA), 36:40; 4. Natasha Wodak (CAN), 36:50; 5. Genevieve Lalonde (CAN), 36:51.

Women’s Team Scores: 1. United States, 18; 2. Canada, 20; 3. Mexico, 55.