Women’s World Cup quarters start Wednesday

Two undefeated and untied teams headline the FIH women’s World Cup quarterfinals in London (GBR) on Wednesday and Thursday:

1 August:

Germany (3-0-0) vs. Spain (2-2-0)
Australia (1-0-2) vs. Argentina (2-1-1)

2 August:

Ireland (2-1-0) vs. India (1-1-2)
Netherlands (3-0-0) vs. England (2-0-2)

After the group stage, the second- and third-placed teams battled for semifinal spots, with Spain defeated Belgium, 3-2 on penalties after a scoreless draw; Argentina swept past New Zealand, 2-0; India skipped past Italy, 3-0, and England downed Korea, 2-0.

The semis will be played on 4 August and the medal matches on 5 August. Look for results here.

This is the 14th women’s World Cup and the Dutch have won seven of the first 13 and two of the last three (in 2006 and 2014) and have made the final in five straight appearances (1998-2002-06-10-14). Argentina won the title in 2002 and 2010 and Australia in 1994 and 1998. Germany has won twice as West Germany in 1976 and 1981 and was third (as Germany) in 1998.