ATHLETICS: IAAF announces its Athletes of the Year nominees, and you can vote, too!

Amid all the doping, politics and money issues, let’s talk about sports for once, as the IAAF announced its Athletes of the Year nominees:

∙ Timothy Cheruiyot (KEN) ~ 1,500 m Diamond League Champ & world leader
Christian Coleman (USA) ~ 100 m Diamond League Champ & world leader
∙ Mondo Duplantis (SWE) ~ Pole Vault European Champ & world leader
∙ Eliud Kipchoge (KEN) ~ Won London & Berlin marathons & new world record
∙ Emmanuel Korir (KEN) ~ 800 m Diamond League Champ & world leader
Noah Lyles (USA) ~ 200 m Diamond League Champ & world leader
∙ Luvo Manyonga (RSA) ~ Long Jump Diamond League Champion
∙ Kevin Mayer (FRA) ~ Decathlon world-record setter
∙ Abderrahman Samba (QAT) ~ 400 m Diamond League Champ & world leader
∙ Tom Walsh (NZL) ~ Shot Put Diamond League Champ & world leader

Dina Asher-Smith (GBR) ~ 100 m/200 m European Champ & world leader
∙ Beatrice Chepkoech (KEN) ~ Steeplechase world-record setter
∙ Sifan Hassan (NED) ~ 5,000 m European Champion; mile world leader
∙ Caterine Ibarguen (COL) ~ Long Jump/Triple Jump Continental Cup wins
∙ Mariya Lasitskene (RUS) ~ High Jump World European Champ & world leader
∙ Shaunae Miller-Uibo (BAH) ~ Unbeaten at 200/400 m & 400 m world leader
∙ Sandra Perkovic (CRO) ~ Discus European Champion & world leader
∙ Caster Semenya (RSA) ~ 800 m Commonwealth-African-Diamond League Champ
∙ Nafi Thiam (BEL) ~ Heptathlon European Champion & world leader
∙ Anita Wlodarczyk (POL) ~ Hammer European Champion & world leader

Three groups will vote: The IAAF Council and the IAAF Family by e-mail, and fans can vote online via the IAAF’s Facebook, Twitter and Instagram sites through 12 November. A ‘like’ on Facebook and Instagram or a retweet on Twitter counts as a vote. The IAAF Council’s vote will count for 50%; the IAAF Family’s vote and the public vote count for 25%.

The award winners will be announced on 4 December.