RUGBY Preview: New Zealand, Canada and U.S. looking to clinch Tokyo 2020 berths in Canada Sevens Series

Women's Sevens Series scoring leader Ghislaine Landry (CAN)

Four legs down, two to go in the 2019 World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series, with Tokyo 2020 qualification on the line for the top four teams in the standings after this week’s tournament in Langford (CAN) and the finale in Biarritz (FRA). So far:

1. 72 New Zealand
2. 66 Canada
3. 64 United States
4. 56 Australia
5. 46 France
6. 38 Ireland

This is the seventh season for the Women’s Sevens Series, with New Zealand winning the first five and finishing second to Australia last year. The U.S. has never been better than fourth in any season (2012-13) and was fifth last year.

But the U.S. has placed 2-4-3-3 in the four legs so far and could clinch a spot in Tokyo if all of the results fall right. The pools:

Pool A: Canada, Australia, Ireland, Brazil
Pool B: England, New Zealand, Russia, China
Pool C: United States, France, Fiji, Spain

Pool play will be held on Saturday and Sunday morning; the playoffs will be on Sunday as well.

Canada’s Ghislaine Landry continues as the top scorer in the tournament with 143 points, ahead of Tyla Nathan-Wong (NZL:133) and Emma Sykes (AUS: 132). Canada’s Bianca Farella has the most tries, with 24, one more than Aimee-Leigh Murphy (IRL), who has 23.

Look for results here.