The Sports Examiner

ARCHERY Preview: Ellison goes for 11th World Cup gold in seasonal World Cup opener in Medellin

American archery star Brady Ellison (Photo: World Archery)

The first of five legs in the 2019 World Archery World Cup series will finish in the Atanasio Girardot Stadium in Medellin (COL), with competition in both Olympic (Recurve) and Compound divisions.

The entry lists are a bit shorter than usual, but there is excellent quality:

● Marcus D’Almeida (BRA) ~ 2014 World Cup Final silver medalist
● Jean-Charles Valladont (FRA) ~ 2016 Olympic silver medalist
● Woo-Jin Kim (KOR) ~ 2011-15 World Champion
● Woo-Seok Lee (KOR) ~ 2018 World Cup Final silver medalist
● Seung-Yun Lee (KOR) ~ 2013 World Champion
● Takaharu Fukukawa (JPN) ~ 2015 World Championships bronze medalist
Brady Ellison (USA) ~ 2016 Olympic bronze medalist; 2014-16 World Cup Final champ
● Steve Wijler (NED) ~ 2017 World Championships bronze medalist
● Rick van der Ven (NED) ~ 2015 World Championships silver medalist
● Sjef van den Berg (NED) ~ 2016 World Cup Final silver medalist

● Sebastien Peineau (FRA) ~ 2017 World Champion
● Sergio Pagni (ITA) ~ 2009-10 World Cup Final Champion
● Mike Schloesser (NED) ~ 2013 World Champion; 2016 World Cup Final gold
Braden Gellenthien (USA) ~ 2017 World Champs bronze; 2012-17 World Cup Final gold
Kris Schaff (USA) ~ 2018 World Cup Final winner

● Chae-Young Kang (KOR) ~ 2015 Worlds Team bronze medalist
● Mi-Sun Choi (KOR) ~ 2015 World Championships bronze; 2015 World Cup Final gold
● Hye-Jin Chang (KOR) ~ 2016 Olympic Champion; 2017 Worlds silver
● Lisa Unruh (GER) ~ 2016 Olympic silver medalist
● Khatuna Lorig (USA) ~ Age 45: Olympian at USSR (92)-Georgia (96-00)-USA (08-12)
Mackenzie Brown (USA) ~ 2016 Indoor World Cup Final silver medalist

● Tanja Jensen (DEN) ~ 2017 World Cup Final silver medalist
● Sara Lopez (COL) ~ 2015 World Champs bronze; 2014-15-17-18 World Cup Final gold
● Sophie Dodemont (FRA) ~ 2014 Indoor World Championships silver
● Marcella Tonioli (ITA) ~ 2016 World Cup Final Champion; 2011 bronze
Jamie Van Natta (USA) ~ 2008-12 World Cup Final Champion

The U.S.’s Ellison, now 30, has 10 World Cup/World Cup Final tournament wins to his credit over a long career that spans back to 2006. He has won at Medellin before, in 2016, and has multiple medals there with the U.S. team.

Prize money is CHF 2,000-1,000-500 for the top three finishers, plus a Longines watch for the Men’s Recurve archer who has the highest percentage of 10s during the event (qualifying and eliminations). You can follow the results here.

Exit mobile version