BADMINTON Preview: Six former champions headline India Open in New Delhi

The 12th Yonex-Sunrise India Open is underway at the Siri For Indoor Stadium in New Delhi (IND), with five former champions among the entries. The top seeds:

Men’s Singles:
1. Viktor Axelsen (DEN) ~ 2017 Champion
2. Srikanth Kidambi (IND) ~ 2015 Champion
3. Tommy Sugiarto (INA)

Men’s Doubles:
1. Kim Astrup/Anders Rasmussen (DEN)
2. V. Shem Goh/Wee Kiong Tan (MAS)
3. Xuanyi Ou/Xiangyu Ren (CHN)

Women’s Singles:
1. V. Sindhu Pusarla (IND) ~ 2017 Champion
2. Bingjiao He (CHN)
3. Ratchanok Intanon (THA) ~ 2013 and 2016 Champion
and Beiwen Zhang (USA) ~ 2018 Champion

Women’s Doubles:
1. Greysia Polii/Apriyani Rahayu (INA) ~ 2018 Champions
2. Jongkolphan Kititharakul/Rawinda Prajongjai (THA)
3. Mei Juan Chow/Meng Yean Lee (MAS)

Mixed Doubles:
1. Yilyu Wang/Dongping Huang (CHN)
2. Hafiz Faisal/Gloria Emanuelle Widjaja (INA)
3. Praveen Jordan/Melati Oktavianti (INA)

The semifinals will be held on Saturday and the finals on Sunday. Look for results here.