TAEKWONDO: Britain shines in Taekwondo Grand Prix in Manchester

Jade Jones (GBR) stands atop the women's -57 kg podium in Manchester

Home cooking means medals.

Britain’s taekwondo squad showed up in force and fought to an impressive five-medal performance at the World Taekwondo Grand Prix in Manchester (GBR).

Great Britain produced winners in Jade Jones in the women’s -57 kg class and Lauren Williams in the -67 kg class and then earned a silver from 2017 World Champion heavyweight Bianca Walkden at +67 kg. Add in a silver medal from Damon Sansum in the men’s -80 kg class and a bronze from Bradly Sinden (-68 kg) and their haul eclipsed Korea (four) and Iran (three) for top honors.

Both Korea and Iran had one winner each, with Armin Hadipour reverseing the 2017 World Championships final by winning at -58 kg for the men over Korean Tae-Hun Kim. The 2017 World Champion, Dae-Hoon Lee, won the -68 kg category. Summaries:

World Taekwondo Grand Prix no. 4
Manchester (GBR) ~ 19-21 October 2018
(Full results here)


-58 kg: 1. Armin Hadipour (IRI); 2. Tae-Hun Kim (KOR); 3. Adrian Vicente Yunta (ESP) and Jesus Tortosa Cabrera (ESP). Final: Hadipour d. Kim, 16-12.

-68 kg: 1. Dae-Hoon Lee (KOR); 2. Mirhasham Hosseini (IRI); 3. Si Mohamed Ketbi (BEL) and Bradly Sinden (GBR). Final: Lee d. Hosseini, 11-7; withdrew.

-80 kg: 1. Raul Martinez Garcia (ESP); 2. Damon Sansum (GBR); 3. Seif Eissa (EGY) and Nikita Rafalovich (UZB). Final: Martinez Garcia d. Sansum, 22-7.

+80 kg: 1. Vladislav Larin (RUS); 2. Kyo-Don In (KOR); 3. Sajjad Mohamed (IRI) and Hongyi Sun (CHN). Final: Larin d. In, 7-6.


-49 kg: 1. Panipak Wangpattanakit (THA); 2. Jae-Young Sim (KOR); 3. Yu-Ting Hung (TPE) and Miyu Hamada (JPN). Final: Wangpattanakit d. Sim, 11-0.

-57 kg: 1. Jade Jones (GBR); 2. Lijun Zhou (CHN); 3. Skylar Park (CAN) and Raheleh Asemani (BEL). Final: Jones d. Zhou, 11-4.

-67 kg: 1. Lauren Williams (GBR); 2. Matea Jelic (CRO); 3. Victoria Tamez (MEX) and Nur Tatar Askari (TUR). Final: Williams d. Jelic, 15-10.

+67 kg: 1. Shuyin Zheng (CHN); 2. Bianca Walkden (GBR); 3. Maria Espinoza (MEX) and Pan Gao (CHN). Final: Zheng vs. Walkden, 6-4.