FOOTBALL: Japan wins first women’s U-20 World Cup

The final of the FIFA women’s U-20 World Cup in Vannes (FRA) was a re-match of a Group C match between group winner Spain (at 4-0-1) and runner-up Japan (4-1-0).

In the first match, the Spanish took a 1-0 lead in the 16th minute and held on for a 1-0 win. The script was different this time.

Japan’s Hinata Miyazawa scored the only goal of the first half in the 38th minute and then extended their lead to 3-0 after two goals within eight minutes by Saori Takarada (57th) and Fuka Nagano (65th).

Firmly in control, Japan did concede a goal to Candela Andujar in the 71st minute, but it was not enough and the Japanese had a 3-1 win and the women’s World U-20 title.

The Spanish, as they are famous for, had 61% of the possession, but could manage only 15 shots and four on goal. The Japanese had 16 shots in total, but 10 on goal and three scores.

The tournament awards went to:

∙ Golden Ball: Patri Guijarro (ESP)
∙ Silver Ball: Saori Takarada (JPN)
∙ Bronze Ball: Moeka Minami (JPN)

∙ Golden Boot: Guijarro (6 goals and 3 assists)
∙ Silver Boot: Georgia Stanway (ENG: 6 goals)
∙ Bronze Boot: Takarada

∙ Golden Glove: Sandy MacIver (ENG)

∙ Fair Play: Japan (fewest yellow cards)

England won the bronze medal, tying France, 1-1, and then winning in a penalty shoot-out, 4-2.